Linq JOIN

Apr 11, 2011 at 8:19 PM

Hello, I'm new to Linq to EF.

I have a new project using Entity Framework 4 and I quickly found out that unless you're using Compiled Queries, performance is pretty bad, which led me to your project.

It seems like a dream come true, however, I have hit a problem:

var query = from sm in db.Table1.AsCompilable()
                        join sy in db.Table2.AsCompilable() on sm.T1Id equals sy.T1Id
                        join sss in db.Table3.AsCompilable() on sm.T3Id equals sss.T3Id
                        where sm.pId == myId &&
                              sss.FinalStage == false &&
                              (now >= sy.BeginDate && now <= sy.EndDate)
                        select sm;

return query.SingleOrDefault()
This will throw an exception: "The parameter '__context' was not bound in the specified LINQ to Entities query expression."
I even tried only calling AsCompilable() only on Table1 but that yields the same exception.

I found a workaround which was to do:

from sy in db.Table2
                        from sss in db.Table3
                        where /* (perform the join explicitly) */

That query seems to work and I can confirm that my performance is now through the roof!! So thank you very much for creating this solution. 
It's much better than creating a static class for every single query.
PS: I realize that I am not using the navigation properties for the relationship from Table1 -> Table2 -> Table3, 
but it is a requirement of the project that the Entity model is not under my control. Even if I could use the table relationships,
I still thought I'd report this, in case it is actually a bug.
Coordinator
Apr 25, 2011 at 7:09 PM

Hi!

Sorry for taking so long to respond. I thought I would be notified of new posts in the forum, but I guess not..  Glad to hear that you find the project useful! Please let me now if you stumble upon other issues.